Hairdresser for curly hair – Tommy Hair design

I’ve been in Hong Kong for one year now but didn’t get my haircut a single time by a hairdresser.
Many times people were surprised when I said my hair was naturally curly and I even remember one hairstylist being amazed by the fact that my hair was not permed.

Needless to say I was very reluctant to let them cut my hair, but foreign salons are very pricey so all this time I trimmed it myself.

I decided a proper cut was long overdue and had a quick internet search. There are very few reviews on hairstylist that do curly hair, but I managed two find 2 hair salons recommended by curly girls (one or two reviews only but that’s enough).

I got Jeff to call one of them and the person on the phone seemed experience with curly hair so he booked me an appointment.

I went on a Sunday afternoon, it was fairly quiet and I got the director, Edmond Chan to cut my hair.

Before he started he asked me what I wanted and explained how much he was going to cut and where. He also said he was going to give my hair a rounded shape because of the curls.

After he snipped the first 3 curls he put his opened palm in front of me with the curls to show me how much he cut and asked if I was okay with that. I think all hairdressers should do that!

After that he put mousse in my hair and dried it with a diffuser.

I could tell the cut was alright, but my hair doesn’t like mousse or the blow drier so I turned in into a  fluff ball.

Once I got home I washed and styled my hair as I always do and it turned out decent.

 

The cut cost 220HKD and was decent. Nothing great, nothing terrible.

Tommy Hair Design, M/F Union Commercial Bld, 12-16 Lyndhurst Terrace, Central, 2543 6985
The person who cut my hair was Edmond.

5 thoughts on “Hairdresser for curly hair – Tommy Hair design

  1. Interesting, I might try Tommy Hair Design too – I’ve got a natural curl that’s not visible when my hair is shoulder length long, but last time I went to Tony & Guy they cut it so short, I looked like a soaking wet poodle dog! All my curls had appeared… let’s say I was VERY annoyed. Where’s Tommy Hair Design?

    1. Here is the address :
      Tommy Hair Design, M/F Union Commercial Bld, 12-16 Lyndhurst Terrace, Central, 2543 6985
      The person who cut my hair was Edmond.
      Not the best hair cut I’ve had, but definitely decent and worth a try to see if he can handle your hair.

Leave a Reply

